A Guide to Texas Motorcycle Laws

There are many great places to ride in and around Arlington, TX. Rickey McGill Insurance Agency wants to make sure that you are riding safely and in line with the law. Please refer to our handy guide below for more information on Texas motorcycle laws.


A license to operate a motorcycle is required by law. The Texas Department of Public Safety will grant a license to motorcyclists that satisfy all the requirements for a regular driver’s license and complete a motorcycle safety course approved by the state. 

Helmet Law

All motorcycle drivers and their passengers must wear a helmet if they’re under the age of 21. Those over this age must wear a helmet unless they have  health insurance that covers motorcycle injury or have completed a motorcycle training course. However, it is still prudent to wear one to avoid head trauma in an accident.

Passenger Law

Passengers may only ride on motorcycles with designated fixed seats, footrests, and hand holds. They must be over the age of 5. All motorcycle passengers are subject to the same helmet laws as drivers. 

Traffic Laws

In addition to following normal traffic laws, there are a few that are specific to motorcyclists. Motorcyclists are not allowed to engage in lane splitting, which is the act of riding between lanes to pass traffic. It is also illegal to engage in lane sharing. Lane sharing is the act of riding side by side with another motorcycle in a single road lane.

Insurance Laws

Motorcycles are subject to the same insurance requirements as cars. Texas law mandates drivers have minimum liability coverage of $30,000 for each injured person, $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. 

Rickey McGill Insurance Agency, now serving Arlington, TX, can help meet your insurance needs. Contact us today to get yourself on the road quickly.